First Day at Work

I arrived in Doha last night.  I live in a place called Ezdan Tower.  It is a Hotel & Suite accommodation.  I have my own room.  There are 3 other rooms connect to the hallway in front of my room. This hallway leads to a shared kitchen, living room, and washing machine.  Ezdan Tower is in the middle of the city so everything is a convenient walk or taxi ride away.  When I first arrived I needed to grab some groceries so I went to what I thought was a K-Mart but it was actually just a convenience store with a limited supply of grocery items.  I have a pool, 24 hour workout center, and spa located in my tower.  There are also a couple restaurants.  I have not  yet had time to explore around the hotel but I will this weekend so that I can get my phone and any other errands set up.
Today is my first day at my office.  We work from Sunday to Friday.  The facilities are top notch.  They even have an office butler! He walks around with one of those round platters and serves everyone coffee, water, and juice throughout the day.   I feel weird getting served while I am at work but I guess the engineers work such long hours that they forget to hydrate!
I am the only female in my office that works in my specific segment.  The rest of the females I saw worked in HR or administrative support roles.  My boss seems awesome.  He is from Algeria and he speaks Arabic, French, Russian and English.  His first assignment was in Russia; he ended up staying there for ten years which is why he picked up Russian.  I hear mostly Arabic all day in the office even though the staff is supposed to communicate in English, so I guess I will have to pick up some Arabic which I wanted to do anyway.  The person I report to on a daily basis is also very nice.  He gave me some tasks and advice on how to pass my upcoming exams right away.  My computer access username and password was not given to me during my training so when I arrived, I really could not do much work because most of my training is supposed to be done online using my access codes.  This was bit frustrating for me and my boss because without my credentials I cannot even go out to the lab to start learning about the technology we use or start any training necessary.  I spent most of the day doing training modules and getting to know people at work.
The rest of the night will be spent getting the rest of my room set up…pictures of Doha to come soon!

Ezdan Tower Outlines in Blue

Ezdan Hotel Tower Outlined in Blue

Ezdan Towers Day View

Ezdan Towers Day View

3 comments

  1. Very interesting

  2. Congrats on the big move! You must come out Dubai! But i do plan Doha late in the year!

    1. Thanks! I plan to make a trip out Dubai sometime this year. Do you live there?

Leave a comment